ICOS operations are coordinated by ICOS ERIC, which is a specific legal entity for European Research Infrastructures created by the European Commission. ICOS ERIC is one of the 21 currently existing ERICs and it's head office is located in Helsinki, Finland.

ICOS ERIC consists of the Head Office, coordinating the research infrastructure's operations, and the Carbon Portal, collecting and distributing ICOS data and derived products, as well as of Director General, Research Infrastructure Committee, General Assembly, and Scientific and Ethical Advisory Boards.

On this page:

Director General

The Director General carries out the day-to-day management of ICOS ERIC and is responsible for the implementation of the decisions of the General Assembly. The Director General is responsible for managing the staff and activities of the Head Office and the Carbon Portal. The current Director General of ICOS ERIC is Dr Werner Kutsch.

Head Office

ICOS Head Office is the organisational hub of the entire ICOS research infrastructure. The Head Office enables a coherent function of ICOS throughout its highly distributed structure by managing, informing and representing the research infrastructure.

> Read more about Head Office

Carbon Portal

Carbon Portal acts as the platform for the observational data and elaborated data products of the ICOS research infrastructure. It is a ‘one-stop shop’ for all ICOS data products, a place where ICOS data, along with ancillary data, can be openly accessed by anyone. The Director of Carbon Portal is Alex Vermeulen.

> Learn more about Carbon Portal

Research Infrastructure Committee

The representatives of the Head Office, Carbon Portal, Central Facilities and Monitoring Station Assemblies form a high-level advisory body called the Research Infrastructure Committee (RI Committee), which advises the Director General and the General Assembly on scientific and organisational matters concerning the research infrastructure.

Members of the ICOS RI Committee

Name Title
Katri Ahlgren Head of Communications, ICOS ERIC Head Office
Paolo Cristofanelli Co-Chair, ICOS Atmosphere Monitoring Station Assembly
Bert Gielen Executive Committee member, ICOS Ecosystem Thematic Centre
Thanos Gkritzali Chair, ICOS Ocean Monitoring Station Assembly
Samuel Hammer Head, ICOS Central Radiocarbon Laboratory
Susan Hartman Co-Chair, ICOS Ocean Monitoring Station Assembly
Armin Jordan Head, ICOS Flask and Calibration Laboratory
Werner Kutsch (Chair) Director General, ICOS ERIC
Harry Lankreijer Management and science, ICOS Carbon Portal
Dario Papale Director, ICOS Ecosystem Thematic Centre
Michel Ramonet Senior Scientist, ICOS Atmosphere Thematic Centre
Janne Rinne Chair, ICOS Ecosystem Monitoring Station Assembly
Leonard Rivier Director, ICOS Atmosphere Thematic Centre
Elena Saltikoff Head of Operations, ICOS ERIC Head Office
Richard Sanders Director, ICOS Ocean Thematic Centre
Lukas Siebicke Co-Chair, ICOS Ecosystem Monitoring Station Assembly
Martin Steinbacher Chair, ICOS Atmosphere Monitoring Station Assembly
Alex Vermeulen Director, ICOS Carbon Portal
Andrew Watson
Focal Point, ICOS United Kingdom

Situation in 15.6.2020

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the governing and decision-making body of ICOS ERIC. It is composed of representatives of the Member and Observer countries of ICOS ERIC.

Members of the ICOS General Assembly

Country Name Affiliation
Belgium Michele Oleo Department of Economy, Science and Innovation (EWI), Flemish Government
Belgium Aline van der Werf Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO)
Czech Republic Jiří Kolman Global Change Research Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences (CzechGlobe)
Czech Republic Michal Marek Global Change Research Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences (CzechGlobe)
Czech Republic Jan Švehla Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of Czech Republic
Denmark Line Bekker Poulsen Danish Agency for Higher Education and Science
Denmark Thomas Friborg University of Copenhagen
Finland Ritva Dammert University of Helsinki
Finland Petteri Kauppinen Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture
Finland Hannele Korhonen Finnish Meteorological Institute
France Thierry Caquet French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food, and Environment (INRAE)
France Gaëlle Decroix The French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)
France Jean-Francois Doussin National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS)
France Jean-Marie Flaud (Chair) French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
Germany Christian Plass-Duelmer German Weather Service Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD)
Italy Cecilia Di Carlo Italian Ministry of Education, Universities and Research (MIUR)
Italy Gelsomina Pappalardo National Research Council (CNR)
Italy Lucia Perugini Euro-Mediterranean Center on Climate Change (CMCC)
The Netherlands Stephan Toby Dutch Research Council (NWO)
Norway Jon Børre Ørbæk Research Council of Norway
Spain Emilio Cuevas State Meterological Agency of Spain (AEMET)
Spain Melchor González-Dávila Institute of Oceanography and Global Change (IOCAG), University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (ULPGC)
Spain María Vallejo Ministry of Science and Innovation of Spain
Sweden Magnus Friberg Swedish Research Council
Sweden Ulf Jonsell Swedish Research Council
Sweden Sara Moa Swedish Research Council
Switzerland Regine Röthlisberger Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC)
United Kindom Douglas Connelly National Oceanography Centre
United Kindom Sophie Hodgson UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)

Situation in 16.11.2020

Scientific Advisory Board & Ethical Advisory Board

The General Assembly has established two external bodies to provide advice on scientific and ethical matters: the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) and the Ethical Advisory Board (EAB).

The role of the SAB is to give feedback and make recommendations to develop ICOS research infrastructure's activities on the scientific level, to advise ICOS ERIC on objectives in achieving the scientific goals of the ICOS, to provide programmatic support by commenting at overall science plans and directions, and to analyse the scientific results and impact of the ICOS RI. The role of the EAB is to advise and periodically report on ethical issues, such as scientific ethics, data-related ethical issues, discrimination issues or any kind of conflict of interest.

Members of the ICOS Scientific Advisory Board

Name Title
Anna Michalak (Chair) Interim Director, Department of Global Ecology, Carnegie Institution for Science
Ankur Desai (Co-Chair) Professor, Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, University of Wisconsin–Madison
John Miller Global Monitoring Division, NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
Sonia Seneviratne Professor, Department of Environmental Systems Science, ETH Zurich
Rik Wanninkhof Senior Scientist, NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory

Situation in 1.9.2021